RSS

Using Beach Rubbish to send a message to London

09 Feb

I had no idea bottle tops were such a beach pollution problem.  We have been picking them up as general plastic at the beach cleans for some time, but it wasn’t until we started seperating them, you realise the number there are and what a problem it is and of course the issue of where are the associated bottles.

 

IMG_1868

Rame Peninsular Beach Care have had a campaign running for a while collecting the tops and threading them onto wire lengths which will all be joined together and taken to London to demonstrate the issue of beach pollution from discarded plastics and plastics washed into rivers.

The aim is to have influence on the Defra consultation on the Marine Strategy Framework Directive which will be the government’s response to the EU on how it plans to achieve good marine environmental status by 2020 with one of the indicators being marine rubbish.

There was a shout out for more bottle tops a few weeks ago and rather than send them down loose, a friend organised a coffee morning where we could chat, drill and thread the bottle tops.

In all we made 12 x 2 metre lengths, which made perfect beach bunting which will be going off to join the other approx 240 m of chain bottle tops they already have.

We are hoping that after their jaunt to the big smoke, they will come to Bude in June, to be shown at the ‘Its Not Rubbish Art Show’

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Using Beach Rubbish to send a message to London

  1. AnnIsikArts

    March 3, 2015 at 10:21 pm

    I wonder if you’ve heard of Fran Crowe: http://www.flyintheface.com She’s an artist who did sponsored daily walks for a year collecting rubbish from her local beach, to raise money for the Marine Conservation Society. She then made little bags of the rubbish and offered them for sale (proceeds to MCS) to anyone interested. I sent for a bag and made some art from it to draw attention to starving ‘scavenger’ children worldwide forced to work on municipal rubbish tips just to feed themselves. My art is on my blog (Gallery I). I sent Fran a couple of artworks in exchange for her ‘rubbish’. Maybe you’d connect with her. 🙂

     
    • Sue Read Art by the Sea

      March 3, 2015 at 10:33 pm

      Hello Anna, I had a quick read but will have a better look another time. It’s becoming such a great story these days . Have you also heard of the #2minutebeachclean ?

       
      • AnnIsikArts

        March 4, 2015 at 1:57 pm

        I hadn’t heard of 2 Minute Beach Clean. Great idea! I’ll join. Most beaches I visit end up in my house, and I pick up rubbish automatically. May as well advertise how wonderful I am! 🙂

         

what would you like to say?