RSS

Nothing like a challenge

13 Jul

I get an email from a friend who works for the National Trust with an idea.  How about I make a short film for you in exchange for some drawings for a project I’m doing?

I like the film idea. To have something visual to show people how I work and who I am would be invaluable to add to my website in these days of the web being where it’s at, but could I draw an impression of a  medieval longhouse with cut outs. My gun ho attitude kicks in, ” yeah, I can do that for you”.

I’d been wanting to hone my drawing skills and had been working with ink pens making daily sketches to try and get information down quickly, but this required more precision, without it looking like bad architect had tried to draw it.

A little research ensued along with a visit to Tintagel Old Post Office to meet with Rhodri, the manager to discuss the history, pick up some information and get an idea of what they wanted.  The three drawings were to form part of a two week long interactive archaeology festival looking at how the post office would have looked 600 years ago.  No pressure then.

It was such a different project for me, I’m up for a challenge and I really enjoyed working with more intensity which required a lot of patience too. When it came to drawing a replica of the fireplace as it might have been, I used ink washes to give some depth and shadow.

I visited Tintagel today and it was incredibly interesting. Just the enormity of the age of the building, it’s history in it’s setting,  how it has survived and also been looked after. It really is a gem and North Cornwall so very lucky, which was measured by the throng of people there from all over the world.

More information here The old post office, Tintagel

The old post office, Tintagel

The old post office, Tintagel

Sketch by Sue Read Old Post Office Tintagel as medieval longhouse

Old Post Office at Tintagel as a medieval longhouse. Pen Sketch by Sue Read copyright of the artist

Byre information Old Post Office Tintagel medieval longhouse

 

Old Post Office Tintagel Medieval Longhouse. Sketch copyright of artist Sue Read

The Old Post Office at Tintagel as a medieval longhouse . Pen sketch copyright of artist Sue Read

Information on the Old Post Office Tintagel medieval longhouse

Garden and back of Old Post Office Tintagel as it is today

 
 
 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2015 in Art diary

 

Tags: , , ,

what would you like to say?